Guest Post: Laura of Sweeter Salt

hello lovelies!
the fam and i are currently in IL visiting friends and family for the thanksgiving holiday…yay!
i have lined up a few fabulous bloggers {and friends} to keep you entertained in my absence.
today’s guest blogger is laura of sweeter salt.
enjoy! 


Hi everyone! Thanks to Paige for allowing me to share a new holiday recipe with you all. The holidays are my favorite time of the year, thanks in part to the copious quantities of champagne, cookies, rich appetizers and other not-so-healthy goodies that appear at every party. On my blog, sweeter salt, I talk about affordable fashion and healthy food. One of my favorite things to do is “healthify” recipes that may otherwise be heavy on the fat and calories. That being said, I don’t believe in stripping out the fun and flavor of food. We only live once, so it is all about simple swap outs and compromises.

This recipe features my favorite fall and winter flavor – pumpkin. I love pumpkin cheesecake, but my goodness it is so bad for you. Here I swapped neufchatel cheese for the usual cream cheese, which tastes exactly the same, just with 1/3 less fat and calories. These little guys are also portion controlled, just a couple of bites each, instead of a big wedge of the usual cheese cake. To give them a little color and zip I added a bit of cranberry sauce to each one, which makes them a little sassy (yes, desserts can be sassy).

They’re also super easy. I mean, come on, we’re all really busy this time of year (slash occupied with watching Elf and sipping hot cocoa). These come together in a snap – just a quick whir in the food processor. I made my own homemade cranberry sauce, but you definitely don’t have to. The cookies are store-bought, so no worries about burning the house down.

So, if you’re invited to a holiday party in the next few weeks and want to bring something a little different, give these a try. Sweet tooths will be satisfied and guilt levels will be kept down. Plus, you need extra room to scarf down that spinach artichoke dip anyways.

Pumpkin Cheesecake Bites with Cranberry Sauce

Ingredients
Box of small ginger cookies (I used Trader Joe’s Triple Ginger Cookie Thins)
Cranberry sauce (here is my recipe: Cranberry Sauce with Orange and Red Wine)
1 cup of prepared pumpkin puree (not the sweetened kind)
1 8 ounce brick of neufchatel cheese (you can also use regular or low-fat cream cheese)
1/4 cup maple syrup
1 tbsp. brown sugar
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. allspice
1/4 tsp. ground cloves
1/8 tsp. nutmeg
(you can also use 1 tsp. of prepared pumpkin spice)
pinch of salt

1.) In a food processor, combine the pumpkin, neufchatel, maple syrup, brown sugar, spices and salt. Blend until the mixture is totally combined and smooth. Transfer to a bowl.
2.) Lay out the cookies on a serving tray. Top each one with one teaspoon of the pumpkin mixture. Then, top each with 1/2 teaspoon of cranberry sauce.
3.) That’s it! I told you it was easy.

yum!  this looks amazing, laura.
thanks so much for helping me out!

paige

4 thoughts on “Guest Post: Laura of Sweeter Salt

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Cheesecake Bites with Cranberry Sauce on Barefoot & Vintage | sweeter salt

  2. Pingback: IL – day one {travel day} «

Leave a Reply

