inspiration comes in many forms

today, i found myself searching for inspiration.  inspiration in the form of words.  i remembered that in high school, i wrote a paper on edna st vincent millay.  she was an amazingly talented lyrical poet and a playwright and became the first woman to win the pulitzer prize for poetry!  her life represented freedom to be who you are, as she lived a very unconventional, bohemian lifestyle – dating women and men, keeping an open marriage with her husband, joining political protests, etc…for a woman growing up in the early 1900s she was very outspoken, independent and confident!  and i admire that.

i just love this vintage photo of millay!  (weheartit)

i ended up spending a lot of time this afternoon reading her poems.  i’d like to share one of my faves…

oh, oh, you will be sorry for that word!

give me back my book and take my kiss instead.

was it my enemy or my friend i heard,

“what a big book for such a little head!”

come, i will show you now my newest hat,

and you may watch me purse my mouth and prink

oh, i shall love you still, and all of that.

i never again shall tell you what i think.

i shall be sweet and crafty, soft and sly;

you will not catch me reading any more:

i shall be called a wife to pattern by;

and some day when you knock and push the door,

some sane day, not too bright and not too stormy,

i shall be gone, and you may whistle for me.

anyway, from there i ended up researching the 1920s – fashion, slang, music, hairstyles, etc…i want to go back in time and live as a 1920’s flapper!

how amazing are these photos??  and the women are so glamorous!

it’s official…i’m inspired.  inspired to sit down and write a poem, inspired to search for 1920s dresses for the shop, inspired to smoke a cigarette as long as my forearm!

kidding.

happy thursday!

paige


4 thoughts on “inspiration comes in many forms

  1. OH my…I love these photos and fashion too! They are so sexy and yet not showing too much…I guess it’s the mystery that makes them sexy girls. And the hair and stockings and headress things. LOVE IT!
    You go to the 20s and I will meet you in the 50s ok?

  2. Hi Gorgeous Town,

    These pictures are crazy inspirational! I wish I knew how to fingerwave, I’d consider chopping my hair off if I could figure it out.

    So were you still interested in sponsoring? Let me know!

  3. PS- I should also let you know I’m in love with all 3 of those pants you posted previously. What size are they? I didn’t see them in your Etsy. I NEED them to fit me. Amazing finds. Keep me posted if they’re available and enjoy your weekend.

    XO

Leave a Reply

