a gift from me to you.

happy saturday, friends!

i hope you’re all having a fantastic weekend, so far.

this is just a quick post to let  you know how much i appreciate all of my readers and followers…

as some of the more regular readers know, i’ve been going through a transition of sorts.

and with the help of your kind, supportive comments…it’s been a lot easier to deal.

my blog has become a place for me to express myself…whether it be in my thoughts, creatively or otherwise…this community of bloggers has been a source of inspiration and comfort.

thank you!

sooooo…as i mentioned yesterday, i’m planning to update the shop this weekend.  that being said, from today until wednesday (8/4) at 4 pm, pacific time, i am offering a giveaway!

all who enter (open to international readers, too!) will be eligible to win a $20 credit to barefoot & vintage on etsy
and
a gift of my choosing.

to enter…

just leave your favorite inspirational or positive quote (or saying) as a comment on this post.

on wednesday, i will randomly pick a winner.

and on thursday, i will announce said winner.

easy peasy.

good luck!

xo

paige

i’m wearing…
blouse – local boutique
scarf as belt – vintage, thrifted
pants – vintage
heels – steve madden
purse – vintage coach (from a garage sale!)
hat – borrowed

29 thoughts on “a gift from me to you.

  1. I have two – one silly and one genuine. Well, I guess they are both genuine because I totally believe each other them =)

    “If life gives you limes, make margaritas.”
    -Jimmy Buffett

    I genuinely believe that one good drink (alone or with a loved one) (alcoholic or not) can change your perception of things. It is all about taking the time out from real life.

    “If you never try, you’ll never know.”
    -Coldplay, “Fix You”

    I also believe that one of the worst feeling in the world is not KNOWING what COULD have happened. Maybe that means that I’m eternally looking for something better (which I suppose could be good or bad but I’m hoping it is more good than bad). Whether it means trying out a new life with a loved one, or ending a friendship with a “poisonous” friend, or starting a new blog and etsy shop – if you never put it into motion, you will never know how things will turn out and THAT would not sit well with me.

    Wow, I didn’t mean for this to be so long. Sorry for the novel =)
    And PS, In the heat of a Texas summer, I am really envying your pants!

  2. My all time favorite and what I try to live by:

    “Carpe diem, quam minimum credula postero”
    which translates roughly to “Seize the day, trusting as little as possible in the future.”

    It reminds me to just live life to it’s fullest because you never know when it will end. There may not be a tomorrow.

  3. “Don’t ask yourself what the world needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive and then go do that. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”
    – Dr. Howard Thurman

    This is the most uplifting quote I’ve ever heard. My dad introduced me to it, and since then I have passed it on any chance I get. In those moments when we may waiver or begin to doubt our dreams, this quote gives everything one could possibly need to hear in order to feel driven and desirous again. :]

    Feel better Ms. Paige! (Such a good idea asking for favorite quotes!)

  4. My favorite quote changes often…sometimes daily. But here’s my favorite for today:

    “People will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”
    –Maya Angelou, American writer

  5. How about a song?
    All Things Must Pass – George Harrison


    Sunrise doesn’t last all morning
    A cloud burst doesn’t last all day
    Seems my love is up and has left you with no warning
    Its not always gonna be this gray
    All things must pass
    All things must pass away

    Sunset doesn’t last all evening
    A mind can blow those clouds away
    After all this my love is up and must be leaving
    Its not always been this gray
    All things must pass
    All things must pass away
    All things must pass
    None of life’s strings can last
    So I must be on my way face another day

    Darkness only stay at night time
    In the morning it will fade away
    Daylight is good at arriving at the right time
    It’s not always gonna be this gray
    All things must pass
    All things must pass away
    All things must pass
    All things must pass away

  6. “Just keep swimming, just keep swimming”
    –Dory from Finding Nemo.

    I like to keep it all simple. Don’t over think life, just keep going and you will get where you need to be.

  7. Ohh a quote. You should check out this site http://www.iwrotethisforyou.me/
    They update almost every day, and it consists of beautiful pictures and quotes. Some of my favorites are from that site.

    I really like this quote, “Breathe.  Let go.  And remind yourself that this very moment is the only one you know you have for sure.”  ~Oprah Winfrey

    It’s a nice reminder to live every day to the fullest, because tomorrow is not guaranteed.

    And this one is from the site. “See the windows. See the world. See the tiny blue dot. See the sun. See the moon. See the stars. See the rain. See the joy. See the children. See the lovers. See the night. See the dawn. See the kiss. See the now. See the then. See the always. See the falling. See the running. See the saving. See the goodbye. See the hello. See the fear. See the hope. See the me. See the you.
    You need to open your eyes.”

    • What a beautiful, summery outfit! So great!
      And here is my quote:

      “The greatest happiness of life is the conviction that we are loved, loved for ourselves, or rather, loved in spite of ourselves.”
      — Victor Hugo

  8. “Think globally, act locally” -Paul McCartney

    I love this quote just as a reminder that everything you do can make a difference in the long run, and that any action, no matter how small, can help make an impact.

  9. I have a couple quotes that I like… and try to remind myself of once in a while:

    “if it’s good it’s great, if it’s bad it’s experience”

    “there is nothing perfect. There is only life”

    I don’t know if those are exactly inspirational but they both remind me to slow down and not to worry about everything so much (as I tend to do).
    Have a great weekend! Love your blog!

    erin

  10. Aw what a cute way to win a giveaway!

    I have always been a quote hoarder, saving the ones that have always meant the most to me and helped me through tough times. A few of my favorites are:

    “If the person you are talking to doesn’t appear to be listening, be patient. It may simply be that he has a small piece of fluff in his ear.” (Winnie the Pooh) —sometimes you just have to keep the quote simple :)

    “Life is all about timing… the unreachable becomes reachable, the unavailable become available, the unattainable… attainable. Have the patience, wait it out It’s all about timing.” Stacey Charter

    “In the depths of winter I finally learned there was in me an invincible summer” Albert Camus

    “If you don’t like something, change it. If you can’t change it, change your attitude.” Maya Angelou

    OK OK I’m done, but I have so many more :)

    xo Lynzy
    http://fromskirtstoskillets.blogspot.com

  11. isn’t it crazy how just when we think we’ve got it all figured out and start to slip into the rhythm of life…then “bam!” life gives you a slap in the face and we’re back to stumbling through the unknown?
    i used to get frustrated with change but now i crave it! i see it as a positive step in life (whether it seems good or bad at the time) because every step you take is a step forward. these shifts and stumbles are part of the ride! i’ve learned as i get older to take risks. when i hit 28 i decided i wasn’t getting any younger so i might as well “grow a pair” and just do what i want (or what i think is best for me) and deal with the repercussions later!
    with that said, here’s one of my favorite quotes:

    “Most people can look back over the years and identify a time and place at which their lives changed significantly. Whether by accident or design, these are the moments when, because of a readiness within us and a collaboration with events occurring around us, we are forced to seriously reappraise ourselves and the conditions under which we live and to make certain choices that will affect the rest of our lives.”

    – Frederick F. Flack

    you are fabulous!!! xoxo

  12. You’re so kind! I’ve been thinking about the motto but at the end I thought I have no!!! Then I remembered this one and I thought it might be related to your current situation:

    “Regret is an illogical emotion. Whatever decisions you made, you made them for a reason, and so you just go from there.”(Ellen J. Langer, psychologist)

    Love you Paige.

  13. I have been thinking for a while now about which quotes to leave you…I really like quotes. Probably because I’m such a rambler. This is just a little something I think to myself that help me lift my spirits and keep on keepin’ on

    Every 60 seconds you spend being miserable is a minute of happiness you never get back.

    It’s really corny, but it always helps me because sometimes it’s really how you see things that matters the most.

    I love this idea for a giveaway!

    xoxo, Ashley

  14. Here’s one that might not be the most positive, but really made me think.
    We tend to make so many excuses because we are afraid of doing what we really love.

    “The first symptom of the process of our killing our dreams is the lack
    of time. The busiest people I have known in my life always have time enough to do everything. Those who do nothing are always tired and pay no attention to the little amount of work they are required to do”

    By Paulo Coehlo

  15. K I’m gonna cry. I wrote a really long depressingly emotional comment and I somehow wasnt logged into wordpress so it didnt work.

    Here is my quote, it speaks for itself:
    “Never be bullied into silence. Never allow yourself to be made a victim. Accept no one’s definition of your life; define yourself”

    Hope you had a nice weekend and I’d love to win this but you’ll have to ship to Canada missy face.

  16. “All God does is watch us and kill us when we get boring. We must never, ever be boring.”
    By Chuck Palahniuk

    It may not be inspiring in a traditional sense, but if I’m ever feeling as though my life needs a good shaking up, I think of this.

  17. This is one of my favorite quotes of all time, even though it really isn’t a quote. Ok, so it’s a quote, but I don’t think it was intended to be one. It’s from Rufus Wainwright, who I adore: “I like to make the mundane fabulous whenever I can”

    Kind of a great mantra for everyday living. All the power to you, keep on keepin’ on.

    Laura

  18. So Morgan’s is like mine on steroids. “This too, shall pass.” I think that you should just ignore mine though and go back to Morgan’s actually.

    This is a great giveaway idea Paige. You continually remind me of what a freaking genius you are. Every day. And so smoldering! I am always like “whoa, I actually met this angelic creature.” Plus you are so freaking hilarious and and human, which makes you even more amazingness. I can’t wait till Mid August.

  19. “People often say that ‘beauty is in the eye of the beholder,’ and I say that the most liberating thing about beauty is realizing that you are the beholder. This empowers us to find beauty in places where others have not dared to look, including inside ourselves.”
    -Salma Hayek (odd, perhaps, but I love the sentiment of the quote)

  20. my favorite quote is from the poet Hafiz. he says:
    Even after all this time
    The sun never says to the earth,
    “You owe Me.”

    Look what happens with
    A love like that,
    It lights the Whole Sky.

    one day i plan on basing my entire wedding around this quote. thanks so much for the chance :)

  21. ‘be joyful in everything you do.’
    -deuteronomy

    the last few weeks have been kinda strange for me. i’m facing some big milestones and i feel like my life is just screaming towards them and is not slowing down. i’m flustered and restless. this verse came to me this morning and was exactly what i needed. to find joy in all that you do will really put things into focus. not worrying about what’s coming next but being joyful for the life that i’ve been given right now.
    and let me add that you are looking so supremely gorgeous in these photos. love the soft colors and the soft blur. looks amazing!

  22. “Beauty exists in the essence of what everything is. A lot of people tend to forget that because they’re so focused on the imperfections. And it’s those imperfections that make us so divinely beautiful in the first place.”

    The quote was from a script I started writing 3 years ago and helped inspire me to make my own fashion blog, and I think about it every time I see posts from girls who always talk so negatively about their looks. I’m a firm believer that everyone was made beautiful, you just have to open your eyes wide enough in order to see it.

    -Weezy from http://beautysimplistic.blogspot.com

  23. Here are 2:

    “Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.” ~ Dr. Seuss

    And, if the first one doesn’t work…

    Your boots may be for walking. But mine are in case I need to kick your ass.

  24. Ahhh I am a quote-aholic. No joke, I have a book I store them all in for times when I need a little motivational pick me up… here is a taste… I couldn’t pick one, tooo hard so you get a little personal, a little fun, and a classic!

    The Tough times in life are your richest times, because you are learning and growing into your own. The tough times make you more determined and stronger, and with that you can succeed at anything- Eric McMillian R.I.P. 9/19/04 (personal friend, wise person that died to young)

    “In an absolut world doing things differently leads to something exceptional” (Absolut ad, they have some good ones)

    To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment
    -Ralph Waldo Emerson (classic and true)

  25. Hi,

    I`m not a big quote collector, however i do have a text that always inspired me:

    We are born to manifest the glory of god that is within us. It is not in some of us, it`s in everyone.
    As we let our own light shine we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.
    As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.

    Nelson Mandela

    The speech is much longer, but this part always stuck on me. I love it!

    Groetjes Ingeli

  26. Woo-hoo!! When feeling down, one of my favorite songs to listen to is “Look Up” by Stars. Here’s the refrain:

    You’re cold, maybe you just missed the sun
    You fall, feeling like its just begun
    So far, keeping it together’s been enough
    Look up, rain is falling, looks like love

    It reminds me to stay positive and, though things may be hard, see the brighter side. So happy to be along for the ride. Love the new banner, too! xo

  27. My favorite saying is… be.

    I have this phrase tattooed on my wrist I love it so much. To me it means freedom. Be shitty, be happy, be joyous, be sad. Whatever you are feeling, do not deny yourself of that emotion. Stop pretending and be. :)

Leave a Reply

