fringe

a lazy weekend is just what the doctor ordered!

taylor and i hung out in our jammies for most of saturday morning…we watched legends of the fall, i caught up on emails, he played his nintendo ds…  i felt like a bum, but ended up getting a lot accomplished!

we finally ventured out into the sunlight, but only long enough to run an errand and snap a few photos.  (morgan, this backdrop is dedicated to you!)

saturday evening we finished season 3 of lost!  today we’re planning to start season 4!  no spoilers, please!  (i know, lots of exclamation points, but it’s exciting!!  that show is crazy bananas.)

i’m also planning to list a few items in the shop.  so maybe stop by later today or tomorrow.  thanks!  the 20% discount is still good for 3 more days!

um…i kinda need to get something off my chest…

over the last couple of weeks, i’ve stumbled across a few blogs where the authors have shared what they think is blog appropriate.

meaning…how long a post should be, what the photos should look like, even content dos and don’ts – what’s okay to share and what’s not.

here’s what i think…

blogs are a very personal space.  sure, when you put your thoughts on the internet, people are bound to find them and may even comment.  essentially though, blogging started out as a virtual “journal”, if you will.  a place where anyone can share anything!  recipes, photos, ideas, life experiences, advice, etc…it can be therapeutic in a way.  and when people respond and share their thoughts, connections are made.

in the “fashion” blogging world, i’m sure it’s a tad different.  most people do want to see photos of outfits and that’s about it; however, as you get to know someone, virtually or not, you want to know more!  it becomes a space for sharing and talking.  quite frankly, most of us aren’t solely about what we wear.  we have lives, kids, husbands, family problems, work issues, epiphanies, travels to be shared and so on so forth.

i think it’s only natural that you start to share more of yourself.

so to those people who don’t want to hear people like me bitching or complaining or sharing personal experiences…you don’t have to read my blog.

simple as that, kids.

i just don’t think you should let anyone tell you what your blog should be about or how it should look.  and if you’re just starting out…it’s your space, do what you want!  if you are you…people will dig what you’re puttin’ out there.

oh and ps, in regards to my spider post…i’m really not a mean spider killer!  in fact, i actually have a weird soft spot for bugs and creatures.  snails for example…i think they’re cute.  i hate it when people throw them or smash them or put salt on them…it’s mean!  however, there are a few bugs that creep me out so much so, that if i see one in my home…my first instinct is to smash them.  spiders, pincher bugs and any type of beetle.  i know spiders kill other bugs, but when they’re in my home, i just feel like they’re having a party in my bed or on my face while i’m fast asleep.  eeeeeeeeee.  gross.

anyway…

happy sunday!

xo

paige

i’m wearing…
vest – ?
tube top – urban outfitters
90s grunge floral skirt – thrifted
sandals – target

*images by taylor*

11 thoughts on “fringe

  1. Hi Paigeeeeeeeeeee.
    I feel ya on the blogging topic. I havent read any blogs about this, I’m curious to know what they are saying.
    I constantly debate with myself on this topic. I actually wrote a huge post about it and then never published it. [I also have issues with oversharing, it makes me uncomfortable to share too much of myself with anyone]
    I love reading what you guys write. Sometimes I even forget to look at the pictures. And I hope that the same applies to my blog sometimes. I write about almost anything on my mind and since people seem to stop by (atleast according to my blog stats) I assume they like what they read even if they dont leave comments.
    I agree, it’s your blog, make it what you want. Where’s the fun in blogging if you have to censor yourself right?
    I really enjoy reading your blog and I hope it doesnt change Paige!

  2. I haven’t seen these bossy blogs, but I really miss the older type of “online journal”. Having personality is what makes something fun. Those homogenized fashion journals with all the girls in their Modcloth dresses, yawn…

  3. as an early fan of chictopia, i was obsessed w/ “fashion” blogs for a very long time. i really liked seeing how chicas put their daily outfits together and was really interested in the pics only (kinda like how i watch the kardashian girls but only on mute). and then i stumbled across blogs like yours and merl’s and realized that i am just not that into the modcloth clones anymore. i really like hearing/reading people’s stories, opinions, perspectives. and, b/c i have become quite friendly w/ you + merl, i am just interested in getting to know more about people.

    it doesn’t hurt that i consider these same women (you, merl) to be incredibly stylish too.

    ~p

  4. I hear what you’re saying about blogs being personal. I mean I think we all follow the people that we follow because we’re interested in them as a person, not just because of what they wear. In fact, sometimes if I find myself not reading what a person is typing and only looking at the pictures, I consider unfollowing them because I don’t want to be disrespectful of what they write. Does that make sense?

    I sometimes wonder if I scare certain people off because I talk about being a mom and about my daughter a lot, but I’m not going to stop doing that because it’s where I am in life and my blog is about me. Mememe :)

  5. fantastic. both the writing and the outfit. i am finding my blog to be a really great place to talk. just about stuff. because i think a lot of us are the same and want to know more about each other and not just see the clothes. great topic as always paige! you are the best!

  6. Oh my gosh, now I have the creepy crawlies again!

    I’m the same way, I think snails are super cute and I can’t bear to see one smushed. But spiders…those are evil. Ick.

    Thanks for sharing this post. I’ve had some people try to direct me in how I set my blog up, how I post things, the way it’s laid out…and sometimes I just need to hear someone else that it’s okay to do it my way. As simple as my way might be. :)

    You’re awesome. Thanks for being that way.

  7. LOST is the greatest show EVER! I am so lost (no pun intended) without it. Really I haven’t found a show that I am into yet. I am hoping that will change when the fall comes.

    As for the blogs, I love reading about your lives as much as I love the fashion talk. I can’t even tell you how many fashion blogs I have saved in my favorites… its alot. I look forward to reading them everyday.
    And I agree, its your blog make what you want of it.

  8. I do appreciate the background! You and Taylor did a great job. You look sparkling.

    I also agree with everything you said about blogging. It’s personal. And if you don’t like it, you don’t have to follow them. I don’t think it’s ok to impart your ideas on others. You can share your feelings, but I don’t think those people should be telling others how to run their space/live their lives/make money from their blogs/talk about what they want to talk about.
    Shush. Go away if you don’t like it.

    The end. I’m waiting for my phone call soon. Who’s forgetting who now?
    Milk and cookies for Paige!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and backrubs, and toe nail painting, and chamomile tea drinking, and vino and olives, and other good good things.

  9. Pingback: what i’m {not} wearing «

Leave a Reply

