yes, yes, yes!

 as i mentioned…i’m engaged!

 *the proposal*

friday, january 21st.
i come home from work to find a vase full of beautiful red roses…
we take the dog on a nice walk, then head home to freshen up for dinner. (which MP had planned earlier in the week.)
since we weren’t going anywhere too fancy, i told him to wear jeans and a t-shirt, thinking casual was the way to go.
i end up wearing jeans, a t-shirt, a cute jacket, scarf, and tall boots.  (admittedly, a tad dressy-er than “casual”.)
once ready, i head downstairs to grab my purse.  as i stand in the walkway between the entry and the living room, MP says,
“what are you wearing?” 
i turn slightly to show him that i’m not that fancy, i’m just wearing “jeans and a t-shirt”.  he asks again,
“what are you wearing?  let me see.  come closer.”
at this point, i’m getting slightly irritated because i can’t figure out what the big deal is and i’m worried that maybe he thinks he’s dressed to casually and now he’s probably going to go change, and i’m starving, so i’m not in the mood for outfit changes…
i move closer into the walkway and throw my arms out to the side as if to say,
“seeeeee.  no. big. deal.”
MP says,
“hmmmm.  it’s missing something.”
i knew it…i should’ve added that necklace, i think to myself.  but i’m also going, what?!  this outfit is great!
and that’s when he pulls out the ring and gets down on his knees and asks me to marry him. 
we cry, we kiss, we hug…and oh yeah…
i say yes. 

seriously, i’ve had to kiss a lot of frogs.  some of those frogs were too young to leave their little pond, some just wanted to jump around and croak all night long, while others were covered in big nasty warts and slimy frog…slime. 

and that’s okay!  i had to live some life and learn some lessons about love in order to really appreciate my frog prince…

and when MP came back into my life, it just felt right.  i had no doubts that he’d be a great man for taylor and i to share our lives with.  it was so easy to welcome him into our family.  it was natural.  and it was a no-brainer when he asked me to marry him, as i can’t imagine anyone being better suited to me.  nor can i imagine finding someone as thoughtful, kind, genuine, and caring as MP. 

i’m a lucky girl.  

24 thoughts on “yes, yes, yes!

  1. ahhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!! the cutest engagement story, EVER!!! seriously paige. i’m so excited for you. and i am out of this world happy that he is a great man for taylor to have in his life. sooooooooooooooo can’t wait for TAHOEEEEE!!!!

  2. Oh my goodness—lovely, gorgeous ring (and great proposal)! Congratulations!!! :-D Happy wedding planning. I’m in the middle of it and am finding it pretty fun thus far!

  3. I will now have a smile plastered on my face all day after reading this.
    Having been a single mom of a son too for a while, it is a big deal that MP is a “fit” for Taylor too. The hubs and I will be married 10 years this year, and I can honestly say he is probably Liam’s best friend.
    It’s funny how life works out, huh?

    Congrats again!!!

  4. Congrats lady. The ring is really pretty! Also, I totally agree with you, it just has to feel right. I’ve been with my fiancee for 6 years, and I knew a few months in that I’d spend the rest of my life with him. Sometimes you just know.

    Happy happy!

    Laura

  5. I just want to say over and over and over how happy i am for you – seriously, congratulations my sweet friend! YOu deserve all the best, and i’m soooo happy for both you and MP, and everything in your future. (ps. that story is adorable). love! xoxo

  6. yayayayayayayayayayay!!!!!!!!!!! you MUST keep us posted on your plans! i want to hear EVERYTHING!!!!!

    given any more thought to austin??? xoxoxoxo

  7. Hello just found your beautiful blog! Lovey, your gorgeous outfits and I loved reading your engagement story, congratulations …so exciting! What an adorable proposal and a beautiful ring. xx veronika

  8. PAIGE. Congratulations! I am so happy for you. It’s been so clear from the first time you mentioned MP that you are so in love, and this news is just so wonderful. I wish you all the best. :)

  9. awwwwwwww that is sooooo sweet and totally not cheesy at all. congratulations! even though I know it happened awhile back. You are going to be a gorgeous bride!

  10. What?! Oh, I’m so back of everything!!! I’m just so happy and thrilled!!! You deserve the happiness! I’m so happy for you Paige! Seriously! Sorry that I couldn’t catch it before :-/

  11. Pingback: i do! «

  12. Pingback: thanks, 2011 «

Leave a Reply

